…you may have seen this photo of Dwellephant and me at the back of the book:

"Missing the Boat" creators

It’s our “about the author and illustrator” image. It was taken by our good friend (and also great photographer) Kat Berger. You can visit her website here.

I recently came across the disc of images from that photo shoot, and as I was flipping through the photos I remembered how hard it was for us to pick a favorite. So rather than let these images get buried in a CD booklet for the next fifty years or so (if I’m lucky), I’ve decided to share a few of them with you.

Neither Dwellephant nor I had any specific goal going into this shoot, other than the idea that we wanted my dog, Mr. Fabulous, in the photo with us. Out of the fifty-plus images that Kat shot, only three of them were “jumping” shots; of those three, I was fully in the air in only one of them.

The image above is the Dwellephant-doctored photo we used for the book. The following photo is the original before Dwellephant got his hands on it:

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

And here are a few of the more interesting shots from the shoot. Click on each image to view a larger version.

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

Justin Shady, Dwellephant and Mr. Fabulous

Thanks again to Kat for doing the shoot! I can’t believe that was over a year ago.

New photos of Shady and Dwellephant unearthed,

-Shady

