Let Me In (Overture Films)

1. I have to admit, I was nervous going into this one because I love the original (John Ajvide Lindqvist’s “Let The Right One In”) so much. Imagine my surprise when I walked out of the theater not only loving this remake of the Swedish film from a few years back, but also considering that it might even be a little better than its predecessor.

2. It’s shot absolutely beautifully and it’s apparent that writer/director Matt Reeves handled every frame of the movie with extreme care and foresight. Look for any scene featuring the lead character’s mother (Cara Buono) as an example.

3. Child acting could have easily ruined this film. Instead, the kids are its strongest part. Kodi Smit-McPhee and Chloe Moretz are completely believable as the leads, and Dylan Minnette plays a bully that audiences will love to hate.

4. The adult actors of “Let Me In” are equally as good: Elias Koteas plays a cop and Richard Jenkins plays the “father” of Chloe Moretz’s character. Both are obviously talented character actors, but it was especially great to see Jenkins play a role that’s unlike anything he’s done before.

5. The entire movie is fantastic, but there is one scene in particular that made me literally whisper “holy shit” out loud. I’m not one for spoilers but, trust me, you’ll know it when you see it. It’s a long shot of Richard Jenkins in the backseat of a car. That’s all you need to know. Now, go.

I love being proven wrong,

-Shady

