I recently came across some old photos I shot over the last twenty years or so.

Rather than let them sit on a CD for the rest of my life I figured I’d save them to my desktop, dust them off, and share them with you guys one image at a time.

Hope you enjoy them.

"Grandpa Shady and the Famous Flocked Wallpaper"

Grandpa Shady and the Famous Flocked Wallpaper

I shot this image of my Grandpa Shady in his old house at 905 E. Doty Place in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. It was taken on Christmas Eve in 2000.

That night, after the food had settled, the gifts had been opened, and everyone else had left, I shot a few rolls of him in front of the yellow flocked wallpaper that, over the years, had become a much cherished object in their home. At least by me, my sister, and a handful of our friends.

The image was shot on 120 color film (like before, I can’t remember which brand) with my Mamiya RB67. As it is with almost all of my images, I used no additional lighting or flash, simply relying on whatever was in the room at the time. Here, an old lamp is sitting just out of frame to my grandfather’s left.

Oddly enough, today marks the twelfth anniversary of my grandfather’s death in 2001. After surviving a triple (I’m pretty sure it was a triple) bypass the day before, he died the next morning when a blood clot formed and traveled to his lung.

I still miss him. And that flocked wallpaper.

One of the Roberts,

-Shady

