…free movies.

Sometimes we go to these pre-release screenings, like for “Milk” (Quick Review: Yawn) and “Doubt” (Quick Review: Arm-stretching, face-shaking YAWN). Other times, Kathy will get a screener DVD that she’s allowed to take home for a night.

This past weekend she brought home “Slumdog Millionaire,” which I had heard a lot of good things about. Then again, I had heard good things about both “Milk” and “Doubt,” so I was a little leery of how good “Slumdog” would actually be.

It lived up to the hype.

For those who don’t know, “Slumdog Millionaire” tells the story of Jamal, a street rat kid living in India, and how he got on the country’s version of “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?”

The story is told in flashbacks, showing how past life experiences have taught Jamal the answers to the trivia questions he’s being asked.

There’s more to it than that, of course, including stories of corruption, friendship and lost love, but I don’t want to say much more because I don’t want to give anything away. I just figured that since I bag on so much shit here on this blog, that I should actually share something good with you when it deserves it.

Oh, and it’s got a great soundtrack, featuring music from A. R. Rahman and M.I.A. So check that out, too.

Now that that’s out of the way, I promise to be angry and make fun of something again soon.

I’m a slumdog hundredaire,

-Shady